icon-find icon-search icon-print icon-share icon-close icon-play chevron-down icon-chevron-right icon-chevron-left chevron-small-left chevron-small-right icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-mail icon-youtube icon-pinterest icon-google_plus icon-instagram icon-linkedin icon-arrow-right icon-arrow-left icon-download cross minus plus icon-map icon-list

Giles County Regional Planning Commission Meeting Minutes – February 7, 2023 (Approved)

Default Image





The Chair Connie Howell opened the meeting asking Malcolm Moore to offer a prayer and lead the pledge.  The 3 January 2023 Minutes were moved for approval by Commissioner Erin Curry, seconded by Bill Myers, and were unanimously approved.


First Item discussed was raised by Commissioner Terry Jones who asked representatives and owners of the All-American Meat Processing and Smokehouse to address the commission.  Greg and Christa-Dahl McMillan discussed their meat processing business, including game, with the two locations one for slaughtering and the other for processing, open on Mon – Wed – Fri through appointments.  TDEC has asked for county approval of their one and only incinerator located at the Minor Hill facility and used for processing.  They also have another facility being in the Oak Grove area, for the slaughtering. They stated they had been processing deer since November and were fully licensed and certified.    Questions and answers on where ash from the waste was disposed, with the response being 99% is burned, and has an after burner, with little to no smoke; first adventure with considerable experience in other locations such as Alaska; only one cooler now but hoping to add another at a later date.  A motion by Commissioner Terry Jones and seconded by Commissioner Annelle Guthrie was made to provide to the full legislative commission with a recommendation to approve.  This motion was unanimously approved.


First Agenda Item – The Planning Commissioner regulations/standards and by-laws.   The Chair noted that she and Scott Stewart had worked together to make recommended changes, based on discussions of those changes in previous meetings.  Those recommended changes were provided to the Planning Commission members by email prior to the 7 February 2023 meeting, and that absent John Haislip had made some suggestions as well.  The changes addressed where the minutes would be kept, deleted some sections no longer applicable, e.g. Land Use Management Plan, required any modification to come back to the Planning Commission, and retain those that addressed TCA Codes.  A motion by Scott Stewart, and seconded by Bill Myers, to approve the changes to the bylaws as presented was made and was unanimously approved.  The Chair stated she would provide a clean copy of the by-laws with the approved changes at the next meeting.


Re the standards, those changes, requiring the full legislative approval, will also have a “cleaned up” copy for the next Planning Commission meeting (March 7th) per the Chair.  The changes addressed the major roles the Highway Department plays, number of copies (7 rather than 5) required, clarification on surety bonds, among other grammatical corrections.  Tamieka Russell was requested and agreed to provide to the Chair, who will bring to the next meeting, a clarification on bonds and letters of credit.  No vote by this commission will be made on these changes until the County Attorney can review.


Discussion then ensued over current flood plain coverage, and after a request by the Chair on Old Business (none) and New Business, Kristen Pfeiffer discussed the potential growth of the county, especially with UT Southern, and the impact that growth would have on the county.  She knew of other states who had imposed a tax on any of the new growth organizations.  Commissioner Terry Jones said this had been discussed in August at CTAS, and for the time being that is illegal.  However, the state legislation is aware of the problems associated with growth and is working on that same issue.


A motion to adjourn was made by Bill Myers, seconded by Tamieka Russell, and was approved unanimously.


ATTENDEES:  Members of the Commission – Chair Connie Howell, Malcolm Moore Kristen Pfeiffer, Tommy Pope (absent), Bill Myers, Scott Stewart, Tamieka Russell, John Haislip (absent) Commissioner Members – Terry Jones, Erin Curry, Annelle Guthrie

Other Commissioners in attendance –David Adams

Other – Grady and Christa-Dahl McMullen and a member of the public